Compliance & Product Regulatory ApproVals

E-Waste (Management) Amendment Rules, 2023

A clarification has been sought from Ministry Of Environment, Forest and Climate Change on released E-Waste Management rule 2022 dated 30th Jan 23. Below are the revisions made in the released rule.

  • In rule 16, in sub-rule (5), for the words ‘‘in the product user documentation’’, the words ‘‘as and
    when required by the Central Pollution Control Board’’ shall be substituted;


  • In Schedule – II, after Sl. No. 35 and entries relating thereto, the following Sl. Nos. and entries shall
    be inserted, namely: –
     >Sr. No 36. Cadmium and lead in Solar panels/cells, solar Photovoltaic panels/cells/modules as listed in Schedule – I
     >Sr. No 37. Lead in Medical Devices (with the exception of all implanted and infected products) as listed in Schedule – I


The addition of substances in Schedule II has been updated as product categories solar panels and medical devices are duly added in the schedule I of E-Waste Management Rule 2022.

more insights

Praveen Rao

CEO & Technical Director, C-PRAV Group: Australia, New Zealand, India & Canada 

C-PRAV Labs & Certifications 

Professional engineering experience of 30+ years with technical and managerial skills obtained from professional degree, courses, and hands-on experience, while working with organizations and companies involved in Design & Development, Testing, Inspection, Certification and Compliance (TICC). 

Management of electrical/electronic products & systems Testing and Certifications for Global markets in Consumer, Industrial, IT, Telecom, Defence, Medical, and Automotive Industries. Overall advisory for Standards, Regulations, Testing and Certifications for Global Market Access (GMA). 

  • ISO/IEC 17025 Lab Quality Management 
  • NATA Authorised Signatory (1995 to 2000) for EMC Testing 
  • NATA & IANZ Authorised Technical Assessor (current)
  • EMI/EMC, RF/Wireless, EMR-RF Exposure/SAR 
  • NATA Technical Assessors Advisory Committee (current) 
  • Current Chair of Australian EMC National Standards Committee 
  • Member of Australian National standards committees for Safety, Radio, RF Exp/SAR 
  • Represent Australia in International Standards committees like IEC, CISPR, IEEE 
  • Member of Telecommunications Certification Body Council, USA and European REDCA